keepitonshuffle@whateversinmyhead – Blog 87 or For Your Eyes Only!

Well – I’ve fessed up to you and the Shuffle Monkey re my Favourite Bond Book & Film – ‘Goldfinger’ & ‘On Her Majesty’s Secret Service’ respectively – & now I’ve admitted to both Dame Shirley’s, Swirls & Twrills, “Diamonds Are Forever’ & Sheen Easton’s, ‘For Your Eyes Only’ being my sort of joint favourite Bond Movie songs – so, what’s our first track today under the guidance of Msr Le Shuffle? – Yes, you’ve guessed it – “Purple Haze” The Jimmy Hendrix Experience – I know, me too! I do also have a soft spot for Roger Moore in the role though!! And Jimmy is followed in great style by Will Young &, “Leave Right Now” – You couldn’t make it up! – A lovely song though and we will always remain true to the whims of the wee shuffly thing – If It’s In The Mix, It’s In!

Next up and hey Ho, we’re into SCHOOL DISCO time with a veritable cornucopia of ’70’s Tunes – Firstly, David Cassidy with, “Daydreamer” – We’ve had the French Version and the Modern Soul versions already, but this has got to be my Favourite & I used to have my Hair like that – Sans Partridge Family – Thought it suited me better than a Ziggy… But Second-up is the Character who followed Ziggy under the Guiding Hand of David Bowie, &, it’s a Classic rendition of, “Diamond Dogs” – Which also introduced the Jene Genie, ‘In the year of the scavenger, the season of the bitch… young girl, they call him the Diamond Dog” – Third-up are the Real Thing with not one of their usual ones, but still very much a Classic mid-70’s, Summer Groove Real Thing, Thing – “Lady, I Love You All The Time” – & Fourthly come The Jacksons with the Classic, “I’ll Be There” – Extra points if you remember the Cartoon series they featured in with The Osmonds – & No, I’m not making it up! And thanks to the great Philadelphia International Records 40th Anniversary Collection, we now have even more Jacksons’ tracks to add to the Mix – Not so with the Osmonds though I’m afraid – We already have all their little goodies in the Monkey’s Bag!!

Jazz Funk time now with some laid back Bobbi Humphrey &, “Just A Love Child” – London in the Summer, Oh Yes! And this is followed in ultimate style by Al Green singing, “Your Heart’s In Good Hands”.

Two great Back-to-Back GEAR CHANGES next with firstly Aerosmith &, “Love In An Elevator” – which seques nicely into Levon Helm singing the Excellent, “Single Girl, Married Girl” – Just Love His voice, which has got even more Corn-Husker since The Band – & Thank you Shuffle Monkey for such an inspired Juxtaposition!

Mark Murphy scats into Town next with, “Be Bop Lives (Boplicity)”; & a Righteous Summer Groove follows from Malo with, Suavecito” – Beautiful! Whilst the Final Two Tracks to play us out Today come from two Motown Girl Groups – Firstly, The Supremes with, You Can’t Hurry Love” – enough said; & Secondly High Inergy with another of my Favourite Tracks ever – “You Can’t Turn Me Off” – Slap Dab in the Middle of Turning Me On – & ‘Slap Dab In The Middle’ is also a great Disco Track in it’s own right sung by Jackie McClean – What You Say Monkey, Soon! So Keep The Faith & We’ll Keep It On Shuffle 🙂

Leave a comment